Grow Old Along with Me, The Best is Yet To Be.

1 Apr

Image

This April 1st has been such a treat.

Friends to be with you at midnight, going to school, seeing kids work in Tutoría, as surprise video the work at Shuqun, a wake-up phone call, celebrations with colleagues, crazy ideas on changing the world, so many messages from people who couldn’t be here, and a beautiful dinner with old friends.


There couldn’t have been a better day.

I’ve been wanting to write an update for quite a while and here’s a short but hopefully meaningful one.
Image

April 1 got me thinking about what growing up means and where life’s heading to. Last night at dinner with the Eagles’ folks, I saw a portrait of lives well lived, lives of a community engaged in work that matters, a community that has sustained itself for 45 years. There was laughter, talk of old days in secondary school, and despite good times and bad – they were always there for each other.

My prayer today is at the end of my life, I hope I can say the same about my community, when I’m 60.

Hearing the students and teachers both in Singapore and Thailand and how what we’re doing in schools has been worth it is also the cherry on top. It’s that community, sharing the responsibility of teaching and learning in class that I dedicate my years growing old to, this April Fools.

So this birthday, I’m trying to raise funds to support FiftyFold‘s work to expand out work with schools in Thailand and a Tutoría center in Singapore. If you’re willing to contribute a small gift to help bring this sort of learning to the kids in Southeast Asia, please shoot me an email!


To my friends- that is all of you on this email thread, THANK YOU for growing old along with me. I can’t wait for many more years of friendship and changing the world together. So grateful for you.

Love,
Meixi

ImageGImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

